And The Award Goes To

Oh. My. Freaking. Word. I have been nominated for a blogging award. I still can’t believe it. True it is an award for newbie bloggers like me who have less than 300 followers but still it is amaze balls to be recognized and even better that this time it is real and not just a fluke like the time I thought I was nominated for an award but it was just the mistaken commenter not starting a new comment thread and attaching to mine. That was a downright amazing high followed by a rock bottom “Oh, that sucks” moment.

I know, I know; you are all probably wondering what award I have been nominated for and no it is not the pulitzer (although that would be pretty freaking amazing) and it is not the Nobel Peace award for my cloth diaper activism. Well, I will no longer hold you in suspense it is the Liebster Award, which I was graciously nominated by Melissa at the Spicy Homemaker. Now the rules of the game for being nominated for the award include the nominee thanking the nominator (is that a real word? Eh, if it isn’t I just made it up then so I am expecting tons of credit now k?), answering 10 questions posed by the nominator, then the nominee nominates 3-5 new blogs to receive the award and pose 10 questions for them to answer. Yes, it does sound kind of like those chain mail letters of yore, but it is an excellent way to increase readership (which I am all about) and getting some much needed blog love via others (what all good bloggers yearn for, am I right?).

Here is the little tidbit about us here at Portlandian Bonanza that sweet Melissa wrote about us:

The next blog inspires me to redesign my blog. Sara’s blog just looks great. She has tons of terrific photos.

Awe, thanks Melissa! And just think she does not even know about the future unveiling of the new design and the cool new addition to my camera phone that is just waiting for their proper blog introduction. So first order of business (after the gracious thanking) is to answer the 10 questions that Melissa posed for me and her other nominees, here we go!

  1. Why do you blog? I blog to keep myself sane. Every mama out there needs a break for themselves and blogging for me is just that; it is my “me time” to enjoy good music and some coffee and reflect on my blessed all be it crazy little life.
  2. What is the most difficult part of blogging? The most difficult aspect of blogging for me is setting aside the time to think out/plan out the posts. Thinking of new posts is difficult some days when all you do is wash cloth diapers, teach how to carry over in addition, try to get cat sick out of a white comforter, and procrastinate crocheting up a new scarf for a friend’s birthday present. Then I remember if I can find the humor and fun in my daily routines that I am bound to find a topic in there somewhere.
  3. What was the highlight of your weekend? Getting to play with Ansel my new dslr camera!!
  4. What was the last movie to make you cry? Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 when Snape dies. I ball like a baby. Can’t watch the first 10 minutes of Up either without reaching for the tissues.
  5. If you could only drink one beverage for life, what would it be? Iced tea, Tazo awake iced tea to be exact. I make a new pitcher every.sinlge.day.
  6. What is your favorite time of day? Bedtime, well bedtime for everyone else but me in the house. Morning person I am not, so I tend to do most of my work at night. Besides it is the only time of the day that the house is quiet and I can relax and not focus on vacuuming, prepping the next days lesson, finding baby food recipes. I can just sit back with a decaf coffee and blog or craft my little heart out.
  7. What kind of camera do you use for your blogging adventures? Until recently, I was getting by with my iPhone camera and our old (5 years+) Nikon coolpix point and shoot. Now I am the proud owner of a Nikon dslr that is affectionally named Ansel.
  8. Name one of the “bigger” blogs that inspire you? That would have to be Young House Love, on the really hard days when I can’t think of anything to write I pretend to write them a letter about our lives and why we should be blogging bffs. Then I promptly delete that post and write one that doesn’t make me sound like a crazy person.
  9. City girl or country girl? City girl, the country is just too full of smells I can’t seem to stomach, that and the dress code leaves something to be desired for me (I am not a cowboy boots and wrangler type of gal at all. I am more of a Toms and cuffed jeans type of gal).
  10. If you could make one change to your home, what would it be? Less stairs!

The next step in accepting my nomination is to nominate some fellow new bloggers for this award so stay tuned to see who I think deserves a tip of the blogging hat and what burning questions I have posed for them!

2 thoughts on “And The Award Goes To

  1. Love your responses. I like Young House Love too. Those two are amazing!

    Congrats on your new camera! I have asked Santa for a Canon Rebel for Christmas.

    I cannot wait to see your new blog design. I am hoping to redesign mine in the near future. . .those little people (and one large man) in my house expect 3 meals a day! A bit excessive if you ask me.

    • I know 3 meals a day is a bit excessive and then the hubster comes home from work and asks me to bake him a pumpkin pie!
      Thanks for the congrats, I hope Santa is generous this year and you get your new camera too!

      xo, Sara

Let us know you stopped by, it would make our day!

