Got Cookies, Make Milk

***Just want to say a quick word of “Thanks” to everyone who has come into my messy blog of lately and hasn’t made mention of its disastrous and changing state. I am hoping to have my design updates finished up soon ***

Goodness me, it seems like we have not had a quiet weekend at home alone for quite a few weeks now. Between traveling to see family and family coming to see us, it seems as though nothing around here will get done on the weekends! Hopefully that dies down soon and I can get to working on a couple BIG projects that I have in the works.

One of these past weekends, we had family stay with us which was an absolute hoot and a half. But between a class the hubster had to take and a conference the family had to go to; this mama was left with some free time on her hands without a car (but still with two kiddos on her hands). What to do? Well, house was already cleaned for previously said family so I decided it was definitely time to bake some cookies. This plan was to my ultimate benefit since I was really craving some chocolate and my delicious coconut milk ice cream supply was seriously depleted.

What cookies did I try my hand at you ask? Well, when I was pregnant with Little Miss I took a breastfeeding class. Yes, I exclusively breastfed Padawan but that was 7 years before Little Miss so I felt a little rusty and wanted to make sure I remembered how it all worked. At one of the classes they had these cookies and oh.my.word were they good (I will confess I ate more than my fair share of them, but I was in my defense eating for two and nursing a broken toe I might add). You can only imagine how happy of a mama I was to get the recipe at the end of the class and to find out they were supposed to help with a mama’s milk supply; not that I have needed any help in that area but it is a good excuse for making cookies.

I had gathered all the necessary ingredients a few grocery trips ago (all but the elusive brewer’s yeast; anyone know where to find it?)

Now I learned to bake with my grandma and a sweeter, more kind person you will never meet. If there was a grandma of the year award she would be running champ for the last 28 years as far as I am concerned. I may have learned to bake with her but we differ on one major aspect: she says you are not really baking unless you make a mess. I strongly beg to differ, I like to bake without it looking like I was actually in the kitchen (I seriously have hot, soapy water on standby in the sink when I bake so I can toss the dishes for a good soak and then throw in the dishwasher when said confection is in the oven).

Nicely measured out ingredients, separated out wet from dry; Julia Child would be proud. Speaking of Julia, here is my Julia busily mixing up the batter for the cookies.

I will let you know that the batter was mushier wetter than I was expecting. It is not a dry dough at all and I made a big old mess when I was spooning it out onto the cookie sheets, hence the reason there are not many pictures of that process.  I didn’t want to get Ansel dirty and I of course had the afterthought of taking off my wedding ring so it didn’t get gross (better late than never I guess).

I at least got a couple pictures of my little cookie helper, before my hands were covered in cookie goop.

I of course was a good wife and teased the hubster with a phone pic of what was waiting for him at home. I sneakily avoided telling him (and visiting family) what the cookies are supposed to be good for (cause what guy doesn’t want to eat cookies that will help them lactate), but even after I ‘fessed up and came clean it did not seem to deter them from gobbling them up.

For those of you who are brave enough to give these tasty treats (with or without the extra milk production bonus) a try the recipe is as follows:

  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 3/4 c. oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c. almond butter or peanut butter (I used peanut butter, I prefer its taste more)
  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 1 c. flax
  • 3 T brewer’s yeast
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 c. (12oz) chocolate chips (I used Nestle mini chips so there was A LOT of chocolate in each cookie)
  • 1 c. chopped nuts of your choice (walnuts are my go to choice of nuts)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a large bowl: beat peanut butter, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, and flax until creamy.
  4. Mix in eggs.
  5. Gradually beat in flour mixture (I generally add 1/3 cup at a time and make sure to have it throughly mixed before adding more)
  6. Mix in nuts and chocolate chips
  7. Slowly add in oats until throughly mixed
  8. Place balls of dough on cookie sheet and press gently with fork (think of indents on peanut butter cookies)
  9. Bake in oven for 12 minutes (I cooked mine for longer since I made them so large. Maybe I should invest in a smaller ice cream scoop……nah, that would be ludicrous!)
  10. Allow to cool and enjoy

**Recipe is originally from drmomma.org I believe, the recipe sheet I have does not say where it was found but the recipe is the same as the one featured on there**

Let us know you stopped by, it would make our day!

